BOOM! Superbowl Super Mario Freebie

FREE CROCHET AMIGURUMI PATTERN

BOOM! It’s a BOB-OMB!

In honour of the Superbowl weekend (and a pretty late night watching from Norway) I’ve just listed the FREE pattern for this adorable little fella. If you want to just skip the small talk, then just click HERE to go straight to the pattern. It’s okay, I won’t judge! 🙂

No sooner had I finished the photography and he’s already been stolen by my partner for his desk at work. I can’t say I really blame him!

So, a little about the pattern. I would say it’s probably more for the moderate beginner, just because of the range of decrease stitches in the feet. But the rest of it is plain sailing – the usual single crochet stitch work, increasing and decreasing.

I am trying to burn through my odds and ends because my yarn stash is getting out of control! So in terms of yarn choice he’s a bit of a mix and match. I stuck to aran weight yarn with a fairly small hook size (4mm). This creates a bit of a tighter stitch to keep the stuffing where it’s supposed to be, but I also think it helps keeps that smooth surface texture on spherical shapes.

For the black I used Red Heart Super Saver Jumbo yarn (acrylic) and for the rest I used Drops Paris (cotton, and my 100% go to for amigurumi). But the yarn choice was really based on weight and colour (and what I had to hand) than anything else.

He fits pretty neatly in your hand, but he does stand up (so perfect for any gamer station).

And, of course, her has his little wind up key.

I have to say, I’m pretty happy with him! All that’s left now is to sit back and enjoy the Superbowl!

Here’s that link to the pattern one more time, click HERE, and as always leave a comment! Are you a bit of a Nintendo nerd? Is there any other pattern you’d like to see? Just leave a comment!